- Tap the lightning bolt icon.
- Tap “Messages”.
- Tap the new message bubble at the bottom right.
- Enter a blog name.
- Start a conversation.
- Click or tap the share icon.
- Enter the name of a Tumblr you want to send that post to.
- Click on the desired blog to select it.
- Include a message to start a conversation.
- Click the Messages menu item on the left.
- Type the name of a Tumblr blog.
- Click on the desired blog to select it.
- Type your message.
To send a picture in a message, click or tap the image icon, choose an image (including GIFs), and send. Or you can use an existing Tumblr GIF: just click or tap the GIF icon instead, and search for a GIF that you like.
It’s up to the receiver, they have all the control. If they want to accept messages from everyone on Tumblr, then you can message them. If they only accept messages from Tumblrs they follow, you have to wait until they follow you first.
Keep in mind: You can’t message anyone who’s blocked you.
To limit who can message you, go to your blog settings and enable “Only allow messages from Tumblrs you follow”. Now, Tumblrs you don’t follow won’t be able to start conversations with you. (Note: this setting will not apply to users with whom you’ve previously had a conversation with).
You might receive a message from Tumblrbot. Tumblrbot is an official Tumblr bot and it might message you (just once) if it thinks it can help with something. Reply with “stop” to stop receiving messages from the bot.
To encourage communication, you can let your Tumblr friends see that you have recently been active on your blog. We indicate this with a green dot next to your avatar which usually stays visible for a few hours after you’ve ended your session. If you’d rather not show this, you can disable the feature.
Messaging sounds
- In the app: From your Account tab, tap the gear icon, then Settings, and then “Sounds.” You may enable or disable messaging sounds from there.
- On the web: From your dashboard settings, you may toggle the “Messaging sounds” option on or off.
Disabling messaging entirely is not possible. However, you can block senders and delete the entire conversation from your account:
On web:
- Click the cogwheel icon in the bottom bar of the conversation.
- Click “Delete conversation”.
In the apps:
- Tap the meatballs (three dots) in the top right-hand corner of the conversation.
- Tap “Delete conversation”.
At this time, it’s not possible to delete single chat messages. You can only delete the entire conversation from your account. Please note that we cannot restore deleted conversations.
If you’re unable to send messages to other users or get the message “Could not send”:
- New account? To prevent spam, on new accounts, the messaging feature is not immediately available, but will eventually become available as you use your account more.
- Verify your account’s email address. If you’re having trouble verifying your email address, check out our article on Email Verification for more info.
- The receiver may have turned off messaging for your group.
- You may have been blocked by the blog you’re trying to message.
- Check your internet connection and try again later.
Tumblr does not shadowban users. If you’re not able to send messages, please check the section under “I can’t send messages” for potential reasons. If you feel like your ability to use Tumblr has been somehow limited, please contact support!
If a conversation completely disappears from your inbox, this typically means that the user you were messaging has either blocked you or their account has been terminated.