Suppose that Arianna casts Circle of Power:
Divine energy radiates from you, distorting and diffusing magical energy within 30 feet of you. Until the spell ends, the sphere moves with you, centered on you. For the duration, each friendly creature in the area (including you) has advantage on saving throws against spells and other magical effects.
Greg stays 10 feet from Arianna, and he benefits from the positive effect. Arianna is behind a corner, hidden, and Greg walks past the corner, still within 10 feet from Arianna. On the other side of the corner, two wizards spot Greg, who is surprised: the first one, Murd, casts Dispel Magic on Greg, aiming to remove at least one positive effect (in this case, the one from Circle of Power is the only one present), trying to increment the success of the spells of his colleague. The situation is depicted below:
The description of Dispel Magic is the following:
Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability. The DC equals 10 + the spell's level. On a successful check, the spell ends.
Supposing that the ability check is successful, what happens to the ongoing effect of Circle of Power on Greg? I see two possibilities1:
- The effect is ended on Greg, but the spell is still active on Arianna (and other creatures in the AoE).
- The effect is ended on Greg, but since the spell has not ended it immediately resumes since Greg is still inside the AoE of Circle of Power.
Moreover, if the first case is the correct one, can Greg regain the benefit of the spell, maybe exiting the AoE and entering for a second time?
Is there any other ruling that I am missing?
1 I do not consider the case in which the whole spell ends, even on Arianna, given the SAC ruling on Dispel Magic and Bless. This case is different from the SAC one since the ongoing effects depends on the distance from the source.
